Skip Navigation
Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raoul
Home | Careers | Press Room | Opinions | Español | Other Languages | Contact Us

January 14, 2022


Chicago  — Attorney General Kwame Raoul today joined a bipartisan coalition of 48 attorneys general in continuing to fight to end Facebook’s illegal efforts to stifle competition and protect its monopoly power.

Raoul and the coalition filed an appeal brief arguing that the district court erred in its ruling dismissing the states’ case. Raoul and the coalition argue that the court was wrong to dismiss their case as time-barred, and that the court made additional legal and factual errors. Over the last decade, Facebook, now known as Meta, illegally acquired competitors in a predatory manner and cut or conditioned services to smaller threats in an effort to boost its bottom line through increased advertising revenue.

“Facebook has unfairly profited from reducing privacy protections and services while also depriving users of the benefits of competition,” Raoul said. “I will continue to work to end Facebook’s monopoly and give consumers the choices and protections they deserve.”

In December 2020, Raoul and the coalition filed a lawsuit in the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia to stop Facebook’s anticompetitive conduct. The company filed a motion to dismiss, which was granted by the court last summer. Today’s appeal to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit asks the court to allow the coalition of attorneys general to move forward with their suit.

Separately, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) also filed an amended complaint against Facebook in the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia. In a ruling earlier this week, the court denied Facebook’s motion to dismiss the FTC’s complaint, allowing the FTC to proceed.

Joining Raoul in the appeal are the attorneys general of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Return to January 2022 Press Releases

go to top of page

© 2020 Illinois Attorney General HomePrivacy Policy Contact Us